Popcaan, Dancehall divas shine at Youth View Awards

One of Dancehall’s biggest breakthrough artistes and a slew of prominent female personalities can now boast award triumphs to start 2012 as the fifth annual Youth View Awards provided a bit of everything.

The popular event, dedicating to the acknowledgement of musical achievement from Jamaica’s youth, took place at the National Indoor Sports Centre in Kingston on Saturday night; hosted by Kruddy and Dancehall/Reggae singjay, Tami Chynn. Featuring several of the island’s biggest music industry personalities, the Youth View Awards proved a successful event with a pair of artistes walking away the night’s biggest winners.

Fambo Tifa and Wayne Marshall

Prominent Dancehall deejay, Tifa walked away as the night’s most decorated winner with five awards including, Favourite Female Dancehall artiste, Young, Hot and Hype Female as well as Female Artiste of the Year. Meanwhile, Portmore Empire sensation, Popcaan copped three awards as his breakthrough year in 2011 earned him honors such as Young, Hot and Hype Male as well as two awards dedicated to his sensational summer effort, Ravin’. The song earned Chart-topping Song of The Year and Summer Song of the Year.

Popcaan performed his award-winning hit, amongst others on the night while, Tifa, Wayne Marshall and Fambo graced the stage to perform their hit collaboration, Swaggin’.

Meanwhile, a few other Dancehall divas managed to walk away victorious on Saturday night as Pepita Little, the recently fired host of popular Television Jamaica (TVJ) show, Intense won the award for Media Personality of the Year. Additionally, Internationally-acclaimed dancer, Mystic Davis took home her third consecutive Female Dancer of the Year award.

Other notable winners from the fifth annual Youth View Awards included Shaggy, who won Role Model of the Year, Voicemail for Young, Hot and Hype Group of the Year, I-Octane for Best Cultural Artiste as well as Magnum Kings and Queens of Dancehall runner-up, Specialist for Breakout Celeb of the Year.

Currently incarcerated Dancehall superstar, Vybz Kartel repeated last year’s feat by winning the award for Male Dancehall Artiste of the Year while Stephen “Di Genius” McGregor won Producer of the Year.

Here’s the full list of YVA 2012 Winners:

* Celebrity Role Model – Shaggy

* Collaboration – Wayne Marshall, Tifa and Fambo (“Swaggin’)

* Entertainment Show – Intense

* Video Director – Jay Will

* Dance Group – Shady Squad

* Fashion Icon (Female) – Tifa

* Fashion Icon (Male) – Dexter Pottinger

* Dancehall Artiste (Female) – Tifa

* Dancehall Artiste (Male) – Vybz Kartel

* Breakout Celeb of the Year – Specialist

* Gospel Artiste – DJ Nicholas

* Summer Song – Popcaan (“Ravin”)

* Chart-topping song of the year – Popcaan (“Ravin”)

* Young, Hot & Hype Artiste of the Year (Male) – Popcaan

* Young, Hot & Hype Artiste of the Year Female) – Tifa

* Sound System – Coppershot

* Young, Hot & Hype Group of the Year – Voicemail

* Male Artiste of the Year – Vybz Kartel

* Female Artiste of the Year – Tifa

* Male Dancer – Ding Dong

* Female Dancer – Mystic

* Producer – Stephen ‘Di Genius’ McGregor

* Cultural Artiste – I-Octane

* Media Personality – Pepita

* Favourite Selector – ZJ Bambino

via examiner